Image

Taco Lobo

5 Sep

tacolobo taco

Travel to the States is a fun thing to do if you live close to the US border. It took two hours for us to drive down to Washington, the only thing that bothered us is usually lineups through the custom. Last night, we were hanging out at Bellingham in order to avoid the rush hour traffic along the border. That is the reason why we were at Taco Lobo. Although I am not a big fan of Mexican food, I found the food in this place is above average. The food was actually very good. I don’t know if I should use the term “authentic” to describe it since I have never been to Mexico before.

I don’t like beans. Therefore I am not going to talk about the beans on the Tamale plate. And normally, I don’t like Tamale, too (so, what are you going to talk about?). But this time, I could not stop eating the Tamale because they didn’t not put sauce on them and they did not look gooey to me. The chicken one is better than the pork, I think it’s because chicken meat is usually more tender and this chicken Tamale had some chilli inside. If you want to add some spicy flavour to it, you could goto their awesome salsa bar. They have salsa, sauce with different spicy level and guacamole (sauce like). The great part is you could mix your own unique sauce (oooooh… that’s my favourite part). Anyway, the chips were included with your order (if you ordered $6.5 of food). Sounds like a good deal.

I ordered two tacos. One ox tongue and one pineapple pork. Oh my OMG. They are the best taco I have ever had. First I would say their taco skin is unique, it’s soft and thicker but fluffy with air holes in it. I would say it’s so much better than giving you three stack of taco skins like La Taqueria and I usually end up filling up with the ready-made skins. Here, in Taco Lobo, their ox tongue is so tender and not over done. And the pineapple and pork is just like perfect, there are no chunks of pineapple there but the pineapple taste is there blend in with the pork. After all, I feel like wow. Finally Taco could be good and cheap. Sorry, I have to compare to La Taqueria in Vancouver because I only went to La Taqueria for tacos and I think they are really good before… But now, I would say Taco Lobo is the best.

You should not take my review seriously because I have never been to Mexico before. But everything just taste right in here, it’s a hard thing to do in cooking. I guess we all know that. Take a look at their menu and visit Bellingham if you have a chance. Afterall, it is a very nice little town with plenty of cute little stores.

Taco Lobo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

